It seems like forever since I’ve posted here when really it’s only been two months. I guess that is sort of forever.  Anyway, it seems like there hasn’t been much going on for me fic-wise, but when I think about it, there really has.

Let’s start at the last thing I posted, then I’ll tell you what’s been going on recently and finish up with what I’ve been working on fic-wise (so jump to that if it’s all you care about. LOL)

So, my last post here told you all that Halo Effect was nominated for a Fangreaders Award in the Rev. Newlin category and encouraged you to vote. Update: Halo Effect was voted third place! Holy crap, right?! I was really excited!

Thanks so much to anyone who voted and the Fangreaders site for hosting the awards!

While we’re talking about HE…

Shortly after the awards, but totally unrelated, the talented jaxg reviewed Halo Effect on the new Random-Fandom site (for fanfic readers/writers of any fandom).

Take a look at what she had to say and leave your two cents if you’re so inclined. I have to admit that her kind words made me a little teary and made me think about writing a nice HE outtake…She keeps reminding me that I said that, so it might have to happen. 🙂

Concept by @NikkiWindland, Design by @TKegl

Meanwhile, on the other side of my fic life in Twilightland…

In the end of February I attended IndyTFMU, a twific reader meet-up in Indianapolis, with twenty or so super-amazing fic-chicks who I’d never met before outside of tweets and DM’s.  We had a great time talking about fics, eating, drinking (much drinking) and laughing (even more laughing).

It was a great opportunity to talk about fics we love and ask questions about fics we were curious about. It was cool to be able to say, “I’ve been hearing good things, but I don’t get it from the summary – tell me why I should read that story.” or “OMG if you like that, you have to read this!” My fic life is mostly secret in RL, so it was great to let it all out and really dig into fic talk. It was a really fun weekend and I’m looking forward to having more adventures with these fic-hOOrs in the future.

Before that, in preparation for IndyTFMU, I spent a lot of time reading fics rec’d by all of the ladies who were planning to attend. We started with a list of over 200 fics about a month before the meet-up, and by the time we left Indy we had over 400 fics listed that we liked, loved, and wished would update.

Now, admittedly, my first fandom was SVM, so I was reading like a mo-fo to catch up with a lot of these girls. LOL They introduced me to some flat out amazing stories and authors. If I had to rec three of the fics I read for the meet-up (and I randomly picked that number)… I would say (in no particular order):

Elemental by TallulahBelle (Edward/Bella I’m not even sure how to explain how much I loved this fic. Just. Yeah. Read it. No vampires – but supernatural goodness for sure.)

Volition – by RochelleAllison (Edward/Bella in Belfast, N.Ireland in 1972. UNF. My friend who rec’d this says it’s the one twific she’d like to see made into a movie.)

Leaves of Grass by Nauticalmass (Jasper/Bella – It’s got this time travel/parallel universe thing going on that realigns with canon and just… I loved it. This fic made me fall HARD for the Texan. Seriously, ya’ll.)

So, needless to say, I’ve been kind of ADD about writing because I’ve fallen into some amazing stories (and I’ve been obsessing about all things Jasper). But, believe it or not, I have been writing!

Banner by time_lights

In early January I entered the TwilightofCraigslistContest based on the prompt July 4th Party Weekend by ShinyVolvoLurver. I didn’t win or place, but I did get the idea for a fluffy little fic that I’ve been working on called Accidentally in Love.

I posted the first chapter (the contest entry) at the end of January and have been trying, slowly but surely, to get written ahead (while reading and drooling over Jasper). I’ve finally decided that part of my ADD issue is the fact that I don’t HAVE to write because I haven’t committed to posting…so I’ll be putting chapter two up next week and forcing myself to buckle down and get this thing outta my head!

I adopted an awesome banner (above) from time_lights. And, while I love my banner – I really do! It’s so cute and perfect for the fic – I want someone to fic this banner that is on her LJ page. I mean – I cannot. Someone – write this.

Banner by time_lights

Am I right? This is begging to be written. Anyway…there’s that ADD I was talking about. LOL

Last, but certainly not least, I’m participating in round six of The Twilight Twenty-Five challenge. Between February 1, 2012 and May 31, 2012 (fingers crossed) I will be posting twenty-five chapters of a multi-chapter fic (no less than 1,000 words each) based on prompts provided by The Twilight Twenty-Five. I’m working on ch4 already of what I’ve been calling in my head Fire and Rain.  I’ll probably break down and post the first chapter in the next day or so.

I think somewhere around eighty authors have signed up for the challenge this round, it will be interesting to see what comes out of it! (The challenge is, based on provided photo/word prompts,  to write either twenty-five unrelated drabbles of EXACTLY one-hundred words, twenty-five unrelated one-shots (no less than 1,000 words) or a twenty-five chapter fic (no less than 1,000 words in each chapter).

What this post tells me, is that clearly I’ve been busier than I thought and I still have a lot to do! I hope everyone’s 2012 is progressing nicely and I’ll see you all when I get a minute to poke my head out from the cave I’m going to have to hide in to get all of this writing done.

Kidding. Well, not really. Thanks for listening to me ramble!

